The Yeomen of the Guard

March 23 - 31

TICKETS WILL GO ON SALE IN JANUARY 2018

March 23 – 31, 2018
exact performances to be determined

Tickets $30 and up

Running Time 2.25 hours

Blue Hill Troupe, Ltd. presents

Gilbert & Sullivan’s

The YEOMEN OF THE GUARD, or the merryman and his maid

to benefit GallopNYC

March 23-31, 2018

The Theatre At St. Jean’s
184 East 76th Street
New York, NY

The Yeomen of the Guard, or The Merryman and His Maid, opened October 3, 1888, at the Savoy Theatre and ran for 423 performances. The darkest of the Gilbert and Sullivan operas, Yeomen ends with a broken-hearted main character and at least two reluctant engagements, rather than the usual armful of marriages. However, Gilbert’s “pointed” satire and punny one-liners abound, there are plenty of topsy-turvy plot complications, and many believe that the score is Sullivan’s finest. Indeed, some enjoy Yeomen particularly because of its ever-changing emotional balance of joy and despair, love and sacrifice.

The setting of Yeomen is laid in the Tower of London in Shakespearean times. Colonel Fairfax is sentenced to die in an hour on a false charge of sorcery. To avoid leaving his estate to his accuser, and with the help of the Lieutenant of the Tower, he secretly marries Elsie Maynard, a strolling singer, who expects to be a well-paid widow in an hour. With the help of the Merrill family, Fairfax escapes, throwing the Tower and the astonished Elsie into despair. But the disguised Fairfax woos Elsie, and in the end, she loves Fairfax and jilts her intended husband, the jester Jack Point.

 

Final performance schedule TBA
TICKETS WILL GO ON SALE IN JANUARY 2018

Calendar for The Yeomen of the Guard

Mar Mon Mar 19
Tue Mar 20
Wed Mar 21
Thu Mar 22
Fri Mar 23
Sat Mar 24
Sun Mar 25
Mon Mar 26
Tue Mar 27
Wed Mar 28
Thu Mar 29
Fri Mar 30
Sat Mar 31
Apr Sun Apr 1

Directions

The theater is located between Lexington and Third Avenues on the south side of 76th Street, close to the 77th Street stops on the 6 Train.  Our theatre is wheelchair-accessible. When you arrive, send a member of your party into the main entrance to alert our house staff so that we can direct you to the entrance with the elevator.